Monday, April 30, 2012

Sweet Action Ice Cream

Sweet Action Ice Cream is an award-winning scoop shop on Broadway St. in Denver, Colorado. Would this panda enjoy the sweet treats at this critically acclaimed place?


Rock Rest Lodge

The Rock Rest Lodge is a saloon-like restaurant and bar in Golden, Colorado. I wanted to come here to try their peanut butter burger, but when I also found out they had a 4-pound PB burger challenge that only cost $12, I figured it was worth a shot to try it. It would be my first quantity food challenge. Little did I know what I'd be getting myself into.


Sunday, April 29, 2012

Diego Zhang's

Diego Zhang's is a slider burger establishment in Centennial, Colorado. My friend said this place looked pretty good, and after viewing the menu, I had to concur. Hell, why not, let's try this place as well!


Snooze

Snooze is an award-winning breakfast spot with four Colorado locations (plus one in San Diego). A friend and I hit the Centennial location this time. With many rave reviews, one thing was clear: we had to go for the gusto and get a larger breakfast fix.


Saturday, April 28, 2012

Osaka Sushi

Osaka Sushi is a Japanese sushi bar and restaurant in Denver, Colorado. While I enjoy great sushi once in a while, I was here with a friend to take on the Nuclear Roll sushi challenge.


Coors Field

Coors Field is a Major League Baseball ballpark, home of the Colorado Rockies. It's located on Blake St. in Denver, Colorado. My first MLB game also required a bit of eating. Generally, some people place a negative stigma on ballpark food. But does that hold true here?


Friday, April 27, 2012

The Breakfast King

The Breakfast King is a breakfast-and-lunch dive located on West Mississippi Ave. in Denver, Colorado. A vintage diner feel -- and they really love the color orange here. The servers wear old-school white uniforms. That's pretty neat. But how would the food fare?


Toast (Littleton, CO)

Toast is a small breakfast dive in Littleton, Colorado. This is the original location that originally opened in December 2006. Another Toast in Cherry Creek opened and closed a while back. Being a big breakfast lover, I was curious if this popular place lived up to the hype.


Thursday, April 26, 2012

Maui Shave Ice

Maui Shave Ice is a food truck roaming various cities in Colorado. They usually can be found in Denver, Boulder, and Lyons, among other stops. One of the last things I expected to see in Colorado was a Hawaiian shave ice cart. It was a no-brainer: I had to stop here. What would I think about this place?


Rocky Mountain Chili Bowl

Rocky Mountain Chili Bowl is a food truck roaming Denver, Colorado. They also have a brick-and-mortar establishment on East 35th Ave. You can get any of their delicious bowls or build your own. What would I think about their pork green chili?


Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Coaches Scoop

Coaches Scoop is a frozen dessert food truck roaming throughout Denver, Colorado. On April 14, I found them at the Denver Food Truck Festival adjacent to South High School. At this truck, you can expect "super premium plus" ice cream!


Quaker Steak & Lube (CO)

Quaker Steak and Lube has many franchises in multiple U.S. states. But unfortunately, there's no Oregon location yet. When I found out there was a Quaker Steak in Westminster, Colorado, I had to go and conquer their Triple Atomic Wings challenge!


Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Cherry Cricket

Cherry Cricket, located in Denver, Colorado, is a bar and grill that is also known for being on the Denver episode of Man v. Food. It has an enormous following, with substantial waitlists at peak meal hours. It was no exception when a friend and I met up for lunch here one Saturday.


Jack-n-Grill

Jack-n-Grill is a Mexican dive restaurant with three locations in Colorado. My friend and I went to the original location on Federal Blvd. in Denver, founded in 2000. There is also a Jack-n-Grill in Westminster (Sheridan Blvd.) and Littleton (West Belleview).

After seeing this place featured on Man v. Food, I had to come here, despite a mysterious bout of food poisoning that hit a bit earlier in the day.

Federal Blvd. location

Monday, April 23, 2012

Sweet Cow Ice Cream

Sweet Cow Ice Cream is a small ice cream scoop shop located in Louisville, Colorado. In 2011, Denver Westword named Sweet Cow the best ice cream on its "Best of Denver" picks. Owner Drew Honness offers various homemade ice creams and sorbets to choose from!


Beau Jo's

Beau Jo's is a local pizza establishment, made even more famous by its appearance on the Boulder episode of Man v. Food. My friend and I headed to the Boulder location for more epic noshing.


Sunday, April 22, 2012

West End Tavern

The West End Tavern in Boulder, Colorado, is home to the "Wing King Challenge," as seen on Man v. Food. Fifty wings in thirty minutes. I'm sure my friends would love to see me die trying on this one. Alas, a buddy and I stopped in for an appetizer instead.


The Buff Restaurant

(The next 11 days will focus on my amazing four-day trip in Colorado. Filled with Man v. Food spots, food challenges, and great memories!)

The Buff Restaurant, located in Boulder, Colorado, is probably best known to nonresidents for its appearance on Man v. Food.


Saturday, April 21, 2012

Alcyone Cafe & Catering (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

I returned to Alcyone Cafe in early April to try another sandwich. It also gave me an opportunity to catch up with a good friend from law school. Our own busy schedules had kept us apart for several months.

Sunlight is not my friend on this picture

Friday, April 20, 2012

Taj Mahal (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

Good grief, I hadn't been here in about a year?! Anyway, I returned to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant in mid-April for their lunch buffet. While I didn't arrive extremely hungry, I certainly wanted to get my money's worth on this all-you-can-eat Indian extravaganza.

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Oregon Crepe Company (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

As my friend and I continued to walk around at the first Salem Saturday Market of 2012, I spotted the Oregon Crepe Company tent preparing various crepes for hungry customers. Richard Foote, one of the owners, had replied to my previous review and appreciated my honest feedback. It was time for me to get something new off the menu, and I knew exactly what it would be.

Look for this tent at the Salem Farmers' Market!
The Saturday one starts in early April, while Wednesday's version begins in May!

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Burly's Chuckwagon (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

The first Salem Saturday Market of 2012 took place on April 7, and I met a friend there for lunch. Circling the numerous vendors, we decided to try Burly's. I had been waiting for some time to give this place another try.

Burly's numerous BBQ sauces! They are all great choices!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Blues City Biscuits (Part 4)

(UPDATE 7/7/14: Blues City Biscuits had its last day at the Good Food Here pod on July 6, 2014. Mary, who had run the cart since March 2013, plans to take an extended break.)

(UPDATE 2/23/13: According to Blues City Biscuits' FB page, Kimberly has sold the cart, but the business remains Blues City Biscuits. The new owner plans to reopen on March 1, 2013, at the Good Food Here pod near SE 43rd and Belmont.)

(Original Review -- October 2011)
(Second Review -- December 2011)
(Third Review -- February 2012)

Blues City Biscuits may have moved to the D-Street Noshery food pod (around SE 33rd and Division), but the food is still outstanding. Kimberly advertised some chocolate gravy -- with a spicy twist. Good enough for me!

(NOTE: The D-Street Noshery pod closed at the end of October 2012)

Blues City Biscuits at D-Street Noshery!
East side of the pod, next to Koi Fusion!

Monday, April 16, 2012

PBJ's Grilled (Part 3)

(Original Review -- June 2011)
(Second Review -- February 2012)

On April 6, 2012, Zappos shared their "random act of kindness" at PBJ's. From about noon to 2 p.m., Zappos footed the bill for all customers to enjoy a free PBJ's sandwich of their choice. Major shout out to Zappos for their generosity!


Sunday, April 15, 2012

Polish Kitchen

Polish Kitchen is a food cart located at the Q-19 food pod (NW 19th and Quimby) in Portland, Oregon. Admittedly, I had arrived at the pod to try a couple of other carts, but both were closed on my visit. Since I hadn't had Polish food in a while, I decided to try this cart out.


Saturday, April 14, 2012

Anything Else? Asian Fusion

Anything Else? is a Thai/Asian Fusion food cart located in the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Having opened just a couple short months ago, this cart has quickly earned rave reviews with customers and other food cart owners!


Friday, April 13, 2012

Ramy's Lamb Shack

(UPDATE 11/8/12: Ramy has moved his original cart from Cartlandia to the Hillsdale Food Park (SW Capitol Hwy & Sunset). There is also a second truck located at the Rose City Food Park at NE 52nd and Sandy Blvd.)

Ramy's Lamb Shack is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. After about a month of soft opens, Ramy held his grand opening on April 7, sporting a full menu of about 10-12 items.

Photo taken on 4/4/12, days before the grand opening
The cart now has a large menu board and awesome signs!

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Granny Boo's Deli

Granny Boo's Deli is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Co-owners Shelley Richmond and Lori Billa serve various breakfast and lunch sandwiches, and they are happy to make any order at any time if it's available!

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Carte Blanche

Carte Blanche is a food cart located at the corner of SE 32nd and Hawthorne in Portland, Oregon. It's a chrome airstream cart in a small corner lot. I came to their official grand opening at lunchtime on April 4, 2012. Because their menu rotates weekly, check out their website for the latest dishes!

Grand Opening on April 4, 2012!

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Broken Yolk Cafe (Corvallis, OR)

The Broken Yolk Cafe is a breakfast-and-lunch establishment in Corvallis, Oregon. It has no affiliation with the much more famous Broken Yolk Cafe in San Diego (the latter being on Man v. Food).


Monday, April 9, 2012

China Blue Restaurant

(Second Review -- May 2012)
(OregonMania I with Naader Reda -- May 2012)

China Blue Restaurant, located on NW 9th St. in Corvallis, Oregon, is an Americanized Chinese restaurant and home to the Lucky Seven Challenge.

(Nope, not my car)

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Willamette Burger Company (Part 3)

(NOTE: Willamette Burger Company closed in July 2012.)

(Original Review -- September 2011)
(Second Review -- September 2011)

Several weeks ago, there was a Groupon for Willamette Burger Company, offering $14 worth of food at only $7. After seeing WBC's March special, I was determined to get there before April arrived. March 31 was my chance.


Saturday, April 7, 2012

Mad Greek Deli (Part 2)

(Original Review -- March 2012, visited mid-February)

I really wasn't planning on hitting Mad Greek Deli the other week. But something happened that almost never happens to me: I actually won free food. $25 worth, up to two people at dinnertime, for just one visit. Since I also only had a few days to get my grub, I made a quick detour to redeem my prize on March 29.

East Burnside location

Friday, April 6, 2012

Burger Bungalow

(Please also read Part 2 -- August 2012)

Burger Bungalow is located in Vancouver, Washington. At the time of this posting, the place is only about a year old. They have generous portion sizes for their burger combos!

So what draws a spicy-seeking panda to a burger joint? A spicy challenge, of course! And if you read the full review, you'll get to see video of me taking it on!


Thursday, April 5, 2012

Jerusalem Cafe

Jerusalem Cafe is a Mediterranean restaurant with three overall locations (two in Vancouver, WA): downtown on E Evergreen; one on SE Chkalov Drive; and a third on SE Belmont in Portland, Oregon. For purposes of this review, I only focused on the downtown E Evergreen establishment.

Found this picture online of the downtown Vancouver location

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Al-Aqsa (State Street)

(Original Review -- August 2011 at Salem Commercial St. SE location)

With Al-Aqsa's newest location on State Street (next to Subway and near Willamette University) opening up in late March, I decided to give this place one more shot. While this is different from the place I reviewed last August, the food served is practically the same as the South Commercial location (only adding a few new rice dishes at the State Street location).

The official grand opening for Al-Aqsa's State Street location was on March 28. The owner, Moe Jawad, plans to have a lunch and dinner buffet here once a week.


Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Jenuine Desserts

Jenuine Desserts is a cake and cupcake business, generally open for catering events. However, you might currently find Jen Adams' cupcakes for sale at Adam's Rib Smokehouse in Salem, Oregon.

From Jen's website!
(Just did a very small edit to it)

Monday, April 2, 2012

Lillie Belle Farms

Lillie Belle Farms is an artisan chocolate store in Central Point, Oregon. I did not make the long drive to Southern Oregon, but went online to order some chocolates from them.

(Found photo online here

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Da-Pressed Coffee

Da-Pressed Coffee is an espresso and smoothie cart located at the Good Food Here pod in Portland, Oregon. Owner Evan Mooney opened this cart around August 2010.