Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Annette's Westgate Cafe (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

Since I prefer breakfast anyway, I tried Annette's Westgate again in mid-August. Their breakfast menu looked very promising, with several delicious options and large portions.


Monday, August 27, 2012

The Sugar Cube (Part 2)

(UPDATE: The Sugar Cube cart may no longer be there, but Kir Jensen is opening a brick-and-mortar spot on NE Alberta in August 2013!)

(Original Review -- November 2011)

I ventured back to The Sugar Cube in early August, a few days after Kir reopened her cart next to Lardo's brick-and-mortar spot near SE 12th and Hawthorne (across from the Cartopia food pod). Having had Kir's amazing desserts before, I knew what I was getting this time.


Friday, August 24, 2012

Burger Bungalow (Part 2)

(Original Review -- April 2012)

After reading a couple months ago that Burger Bungalow added ghost peppers to its "Shut Yo' Mouth" burger, I wrote a note to myself to try the place out once I had a spicy burger craving. While visiting a friend in the Vancouver area, I felt like introducing him to this place while I destroyed my taste buds.


Thursday, August 23, 2012

An Xuyen Bakery

An Xuyen Bakery is located at the corner of SE 54th and Foster, right next to Foster Burger and near the Carts on Foster food pod. After Jason (co-owner of the Flyin' Hawaiian food cart) mentioned this place to me a few months back, I put it on my list to check out. Unfortunately, with my schedule, I only got around to it in early August.


Wednesday, August 22, 2012

OregonMania II: Day 3 (7/29/12)

(This is the last of a three-part series chronicling OregonMania II, Naader Reda's three-day blitz in Salem and Portland. Be sure to also read Part 1 and Part 2! Also, read more below the jump break to see Naader's OregonMania II highlight video!)

To close OregonMania II out, I wanted to at least do a food challenge alongside Naader. After all, one of the original plans was to do a team pizza challenge, which unfortunately did not take place. While this was more a cruise day for the Freak, it ended up being a harsh lesson for yours truly.

Stopping at Voodoo Doughnut one more time before ending OregonMania II

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

OregonMania II: Day 2 (7/28/12)

(This is the second of a three-part series chronicling OregonMania II, Naader Reda's three-day blitz in Salem and Portland. Part three will be posted tomorrow, 8/22)

For Day 2 of OregonMania II, Naader's priority was to rest up for an epic showdown with Mad Greek Deli's sandwich challenge around 4 p.m. I finally had gotten over my nasty stomach flu and, after watching the Mad Greek challenge, secretly plotted to take on a small challenge of my own. Would we both succeed?

Just outside Mad Greek Deli

Monday, August 20, 2012

OregonMania II: Day 1 (7/27/12)

(This is the first of a three-part series chronicling OregonMania II, Naader Reda's three-day blitz in Salem and Portland. Part two will be posted tomorrow, 8/21. Part three will be posted on 8/22.)

OregonMania II kicked off on Friday, July 27, 2012, two months after Naader Reda and I set off on our first OregonMania romp. I looked forward to witnessing three more days of Freak domination. But various circumstances forced the two of us to use our backup plans.

San Diego Taco Company Wall of Flame
Would the Freak be the next winner?

Saturday, August 18, 2012

All "classic" videos are uploaded!

Despite (slightly) decreasing my reviews, I've posted a heck of a lot more than I thought I would this month thanks also to letting people know that I'm transferring many of my "classic" spicochist videos to my new YouTube channel. Read the rest of the post to see the last dozen videos, plus what's on the horizon to hopefully gain more of a following.

Stack of Mancakes at Stepping Stone Cafe!
As seen on Man v. Food!

Friday, August 17, 2012

Crema Coffee Brewtique

Crema Coffee Brewtique is located on High St. NE in downtown Salem, Oregon, next to Love Love Teriyaki II. It is adjacent to the spot where Willamette Noodle Company and Nosh used to be. After a few soft opens, their grand opening was August 1.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Patrick's Hawaiian Cafe

Patrick's Hawaiian Cafe is a Hawaiian restaurant located on SE 123rd Ave. in Vancouver, Washington. Owner Patrick Chang lived in Honolulu for many years before moving to Vancouver. I had heard a few positive reviews about this spot, and I felt like I should put Patrick's home cooking to the test.


Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Casa del Sol

Casa Del Sol is located on SE Division St. in Portland, Oregon. It's around SE 143rd and Division, so you'll have to drive pretty far east. But trust me, this panda will drive wherever he needs to go to try a place out. Food is such an evil hypnotist that way.


Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Papa-Pau!

(UPDATE: Papa Pau has temporarily closed. The owners have sold the cart, but they plan to reopen in SE Portland by summer 2013)

Papa-Pau, located at the corner of SE 82nd and Lamphier (several blocks south of the Cartlandia food pod), is a food cart selling Sonoran dogs. Luis and Nash Miramontes, a husband-and-wife team, co-own this place.

Monday, August 13, 2012

The Original

The Original is a restaurant located on SW 6th Ave. in downtown Portland, Oregon. It is also home to the 5 lb. poutine challenge. A pro eater took this down over Memorial Day Weekend, but how would a person with a smaller (OK, it's still large) appetite fare against this large portion of French-Canadian comfort food?


Saturday, August 11, 2012

More YouTube Videos!

As a bunch of you probably already know, I've been transferring most my videos over to my new YouTube channel three at a time. Not all of them will get uploaded to the new channel, but at least there will be better organization. And I figure if my friends are entertained by all this, my work is done. Anyway, for easier access, continue reading below the jump break to see the latest uploaded content!

Friday, August 10, 2012

Ice Cream Renaissance

Ice Cream Renaissance is located on Main Street in Vancouver, Washington. Since opening in 2001, they've been touted as having the best ice cream in Vancouver. Being a big ice cream fan, I knew I had to stop by and check this local place out.


Tuesday, August 7, 2012

First six videos up!

As my loyal blog readers have probably seen, I have a new YouTube channel that I've basically been plugging to no end. Thanks to my friend Naader Reda and the people at Wreckless Eating, I've already gotten close to the number of subscribers I had at my old channel. Needless to say, I can't thank them enough for the plugs they've given me.

Check out the rest of the post to get a glimpse of the first six videos I've re-uploaded to the new channel!

Monday, August 6, 2012

Gonzo

(UPDATE 12/6/12: With D-Street Noshery's closing, Gonzo is NOW OPEN at Portland's Base Camp Brewing Co. at 930 SE Oak St. Gonzo originally would re-open next spring, but Tal has found a new spot!)

Gonzo is an Israeli food cart located at the D-Street Noshery food pod (SE 33rd and Division) in Portland, Oregon. Tal Caspi is the man running this cart. After reading several positive reviews, I decided to check this cart out for myself in late July.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

New YouTube Channel! Subscribe!

I have set up a new YouTube channel and will be transferring most of my videos over. I'll be deleting or otherwise privatizing videos on my old account, and hopefully I'll have everything done by the end of the month.

The new YouTube account name is also a bit more professional and more consistent with my Facebook and Twitter presence. I plan to re-upload them with royalty-free music as well; the videos should otherwise stay the same.


Here's the link...please subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/user/AaronFoodAdventures