Saturday, September 29, 2012

VIDEO: YouTube Challenges; Spicochist Reviews

Over the past few weeks, I've taped a series of YouTube videos geared to reach a wider audience and hopefully gain more subscribers. After all, I'd also like to give some more exposure to some local businesses in the Pacific Northwest that have dared to go spicy. Check below for more!

Bacon-wrapped habanero pizza on 9/7/12
(Church St. Pizza)

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Grant's Philly Cheese Steaks

Grant's Philly Cheese Steaks is located near NE 154th and Sandy Blvd. in Portland, Oregon. One of the owners in this family-run business (Tracy) had alerted me about this place many months ago, and I finally managed to get out there in early September.


Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Tonalli's Doughnuts and Cream

Tonalli's Doughnuts and Cream is located on NE Alberta St., yet another tempting place on a street filled with just about every food item you'd want.

Monday, September 24, 2012

Omy's Cafe

Omy's Cafe (pronounced "oh-my's") is located on NE Fourth Plain Road in Vancouver, Washington. When scoping out my new surroundings, I like to find some breakfast places that serve gigantic portions. After doing a bit of research, I found Omy's fits that bill perfectly. I just had to stop in and try the food.


Saturday, September 22, 2012

VIDEO: Voodoo Doughnut; Chocolate Wars

Over the last few weeks, I've uploaded a few new videos to my YouTube channel, starting a couple of new webseries in the process. I've also gained a few new subscribers here and there, and I sincerely thank everyone for all your support. In case you missed the videos, I've included a few below in this post:

Destroying the Tex-Ass Challenge at Voodoo Doughnut in July
(My friend Kelly took this photo!)

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Back to Eden (Part 2)

(Original Review -- February 2012)

While attending Last Thursday on NE Alberta St. (Portland, OR) at the end of August, I stopped at Back to Eden Bakery again to get a treat. I liked their vegan cinnamon roll last time and was eager to try another menu item I previously saw in the display case.


Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Tan Tan Cafe and Delicatessen

Tan Tan Cafe & Delicatessen is located in the strip mall on SE 123rd Ave. in Vancouver, Washington. For my Oregon friends, there's also a location in Beaverton. Tan Tan had been on my radar for a while, so I finally pulled the proverbial trigger and drove down to try it out.


Monday, September 17, 2012

Rose City Curry House

(NOTE: Rose City Curry House has closed. Since Fiji Indian Curry has very similar food, the owners or employees of this cart could have come back under the Fiji Indian Curry name.)

Rose City Curry House is located at the corner of NE Alberta and 23rd Ave. in Portland, Oregon. After passing by the pod several times, I finally stopped by at the end of August when Last Thursday was going on.

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Hood River Hops Fest Giveaway!

You like beer?

If you do, Amy at EatingMyWayThruPortland is holding a giveaway where TWO lucky winners will each get a ticket to the Hood River Hops Fest on September 29, 2012. Event is from 12 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Oh, and each winner will get to bring a friend with them!

Even from the far Southwest part of Portland, Amy says it takes a little over an hour to get to Hood River. Not bad at all!

Obviously, you must be 21 or over to enter. Check out Amy's blog post for more details on how to enter! You will have until next Friday, September 21, to enter. Amy will then draw two winners the following morning (9/22) and will post it on her FB page and blog. Good luck to all!

EatingMyWayThruPortland website
EatingMyWayThruPortland Facebook Page
Hood River Hops Fest Facebook Page

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Philly's Best

Philly's Best has a couple of food cart locations in Portland, Oregon. They used to have one downtown near Portland State University, but it has reportedly moved. The last I checked, they had locations on MLK Jr. Blvd and at the pod right by N Mississippi and Fremont. They also may be at Last Thursdays on NE Alberta at the end of the month, which is where I found the crew this time.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Happy Curry Foods

Happy Curry Foods is located on Church St. SE in downtown Salem, Oregon. This particular spot opened a couple months ago, serving Indian food. One item in particular stood out as unique, and I had to get it.


Monday, September 10, 2012

Crepes Plus

Crepes Plus is located at the Cartlandia food pod (SE 82nd and Harney) in Portland, Oregon. The cart opened at Cartlandia around the beginning of August. At the end of that month, I decided to go and check it out. Alex was the man running the cart on the day I arrived.


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Alice's Bagels

(UPDATE 8/13/13: This cart now is the second home for Fried Egg I'm in Love!)

(UPDATE 3/24/13: Unfortunately, I learned Alice's Bagels will be closing at the end of March. Getting through the winter is not an easy task. Alice has put the cart up for sale.)

Alice's Bagels is located at the Good Food Here food pod in Portland, Oregon. Alice has taken over the cart that Lardo formerly occupied. Their opening day was August 17, and I had to check it out.

Opening day (8/17/12), around 8:45 a.m.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Pow Pow Wings

Pow Pow Wings is located on NE Fourth Plain Blvd. in Vancouver, Washington. My usual spicy self was up to no good again. I'm pretty sure my loyal readers know what this means....


Monday, September 3, 2012

Lanxang Lao Thai (Part 2)

(Original Review -- August 2011)

My previous visit to Lanxang may have immensely disappointed me, but I opted to give them another shot in mid-August, a year removed from my last review here. I had lunch with one of my friends as usual.