Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Sheridan's Frozen Custard (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

Roughly one year since my last visit, I returned to Sheridan's in late October for one of their seasonal treats. A spur-of-the-moment decision, really. Turned out to be an awesome choice.


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Sabria's Arabic Food

Sabria's Arabic Food can now be found at the Green Castle food pod (NE 20th and Everett) in Portland, Oregon. I remember seeing Said and Shelly's cart in downtown Portland several times, but this was my first actual stop for food here.


Monday, October 29, 2012

El Sultan

El Sultan is a Mexican and Mediterranean food cart located at the Carts on Foster food pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. While other carts have come and gone since the pod opened up around early 2011, Gus, the friendly owner here, has stayed put.

I'm glad I took this when we had awesome weather!

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Craft Coffee (20% off promotion; ends 11/8!)

(NOTE: I have teamed with Craft Coffee to bring you a limited-time promotion. HURRY! This promotion ends November 8, 2012!)

Hey coffee lovers! Ever want to try some of the best coffees from multiple roasters, as certified by true coffee experts? If so, read on!

Craft Coffee, a company based in Brooklyn, New York, receives over 50 coffees each month from various roasting companies across North America. From there, Craft Coffee's expert team conducts a series of tests to narrow the field down to the top 10. Finally, the founder comes in and selects the top three artisan coffees for the month. Those three coffees (each 4 oz. bags) get shipped to each subscriber.

For the next two weeks, they are giving my faithful readers a generous 20% discount (code is "aaronpromo") to subscribe to their coffees-of-the-month service. I'm sure you want to know more, so keep reading below!

(Logo courtesy of Craft Coffee)

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Shut Up and Eat (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

I honestly have no clue how my last visit to Shut Up and Eat occurred over a year ago, when it was still a food cart in the A la Carts Food Pod on SE 50th and Ivon. Since then, co-owner and chef John Fimmano opened a 30-seat brick-and-mortar spot right at the corner of SE Gladstone and Cesar E. Chavez (a.k.a. SE 39th Ave.).


Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Stuffy's II

Stuffy's II is a diner-like family business located in Longview, Washington. I joined members of the Big Eaters Club on October 13 to take on Stuffy's famous 6-pound cinnamon roll. Because obviously, we love to eat huge portions for fun.


Monday, October 22, 2012

Dovetail Bakery

(NOTE: Here's my separate Serious Eats article on Dovetail Bakery!)

Dovetail Bakery is located near NE 30th and Alberta St. in Portland, Oregon. After looking at numerous rave reviews of this all-vegan bakery, I stopped by in mid-October to meet with owner Morgan Grundsfield-Helvey and sample several of her baked goods.


Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Suzette Creperie (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

I admittedly got real harsh on this place when I tried this place last May. At the time, they were on NE Alberta St., but since then, Jehnee has ditched the cart and opened a true brick-and-mortar spot near SE 33rd and Belmont. With some time to kill -- and a crepe craving -- I gave this place another go.


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Meianna Bakery

Meianna Bakery is a Chinese bakery located in the Fubonn Shopping Center on SE 82nd Ave. in Portland, Oregon.


Monday, October 15, 2012

Press and Grind

(UPDATE January 2013: Press & Grind has closed. Hoping they will re-launch in the future!)

Press and Grind is a coffee cart located at the Carts on Foster pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. Best friends Janelle and Abbi opened this cart at the beginning of September.


Sunday, October 14, 2012

YouTube: 16 oz. Trinidad Salsa; Spice Wars

I decided to release my 16 oz. Trinidad Moruga Scorpion salsa video on Saturday morning, and I've put it below the jump break. By far among my top three stupidest spicy stunts to date. I'm sure my stomach thanks me that I otherwise stay more reasonable on spicy portion consumption.

This was probably a bad idea...

Thursday, October 11, 2012

The Last Word

The Last Word is located at the Carts on Foster Food Pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. Mike is the chef and owner, serving up fresh sandwiches, soups, and homemade ice cream. While I first learned about this cart after numerous rave reviews, one spicy item in particular all but sealed my visit.


Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Pink & Black Waffle Shack (Part 2)

(UPDATE: On 10/4/12, circumstances forced Sadie to close the cart for the winter. She plans to open the cart again in the spring and will still do special orders for delivery or pick-up in the meantime. Sadie's also promoting her homemade beef jerky, which she plans to sell by the pound.)

(Original Review -- May 2012)

I visited Sadie at the Pink & Black Waffle Shack a couple of times in the past few weeks. She moved to a spot near NE 13th and Alberta just in time for Last Thursday on Alberta at the end of August. While I wasn't able to get a waffle in when walking down a food glutton's dream street, I headed back in mid-September to finally satisfy my waffle fix.


Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Donutorama (Part 2)

(Original Review -- January 2012)

(NOTE: Greg closed his SW 3rd and Ash cart around the end of 2012. You can still get Greg's beignets at places like Koi Fusion, and be on the lookout for more places in the future!)

In mid-September, I went back to Donutorama to pay Greg a visit. He had spent the winter selling doughnuts in Cool Harry's Frozen Yogurt cart off SW 10th and Alder, but moved to his own cart near SW 3rd and Ash this past summer.


Monday, October 8, 2012

Stardust Diner

Stardust Diner is located on SE 164th Ave. in Vancouver, Washington. A friend suggested this place for lunch, and with me not being too far away, I figured it was worth trying.


Sunday, October 7, 2012

Green Leaf's and Bananas (promotion)

(DISCLAIMER: This sponsorship is brought to you by Green Leaf's & Bananas, who we have partnered with for this promotion.)



Green Leaf's, founded in 1976, offers healthy meals made from the freshest ingredients. Among them: fresh-tossed salads made to order, delicious wraps, amazing grilled panini sandwiches, and hearty homemade soups.

Bananas, founded in 1979 as Everything Yogurt, is comprised of great-tasting smoothies, fresh-fruit frosties, and frozen yogurt. For individuals or families that strive for clean, healthy eating, look no further than Green Leaf's & Bananas!

   

Green Leaf's "Pick & Mix" salad bar offers virtually limitless combinations to ensure customers get exactly what they want. They place high value on customer service and want people to have an awesome experience.



The fine folks at Green Leaf's are giving away a Vitamix blender that can really help with blending those smoothies and other healthy options! Just go and "like" their Facebook page to enter!

 

Get in the mix and win a Vitamix!
Just head on over to the Green Leaf's & Bananas Facebook page to enter for the Vitamix Giveaway!

Friday, October 5, 2012

D-Street Noshery Closing

(POST UPDATED FEBRUARY 2013! See below the jump break for further cart moves!)

A few weeks back, I first got word that the D-Street Noshery pod (SE 33rd and Division) would be closing at the end of October. Food Carts Portland has confirmed the pod's closing. As of this blog post, several carts still remain on the property, while others have already moved or closed.

Took this photo of what's left of D-Street Noshery on Halloween
All carts are gone except Gonzo, which has since moved to SE Oak St.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Ugarit Mediterranean Meals

Ugarit Meditrreanean Meals is located on SW 10th Ave., in between Alder and Washington, in downtown Portland, Oregon.



Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Island Grill Hawaiian Barbeque (Part 2)

(Original Review -- July 2011)

When first starting my food blog, I had a very harsh critiquing system, which resulted in many low-scoring reviews. Over the last few months, I've returned to those spots I had previously given very low marks to, eager to give them all a fresh shot. Island Grill Hawaiian Barbeque was on the agenda on a sunny mid-September day.


Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Sideshow Eatery

Sideshow Eatery is located near the corner of SW 9th and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. I first learned about this cart after Brett wrote a great article for Food Carts Portland in August. With a certain item on this particular menu, I had to make a special visit ASAP.


Monday, October 1, 2012

Anoush Deli

Anoush Deli is located on NE Fourth Plain Blvd. in a small strip mall in Vancouver, Washington. The place also doubles as an international food market, selling various European food products.

(UPDATE 10/3/12) There is also a second location on NE 122nd Ave. in Portland, Oregon. I have added pictures from that spot near the bottom of the post.

NE Fourth Plain location (Vancouver, WA)