Monday, December 31, 2012

Cafe Kaila

(Hey everyone, Aaron here. Just wanting to wish all of my blog readers a Happy New Year! Hoping 2013 is a great year for all!)

Cafe Kaila is located in the Market City Shopping Center in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Saturday, December 29, 2012

2012 in Review; Diablo Burrito; #MidnightMadness

Hey everyone! As 2012 comes to a close, I've decided to take a look back at what went down this year. There's a lot to cover, but I'll try and speed through everything. Plus, you'll get a bunch of videos to look at for your viewing pleasure (or to shake your head at in disgust). I figure it's also fitting that I've ended the year by taking down a previously undefeated spicy burrito.

With Leo (son of owner) after becoming the first to beat the
Diablo Burrito Challenge at Allan's Mexican Restaurant (12/22/12)

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

W & M Bar-B-Q Burger

W & M Bar-B-Q Burger is a mom-and-pop burger joint located on Waialae Ave. in Honolulu, Hawaii. It's a place that generations of people have been coming to. Here, it's all about the signature BBQ (teriyaki) burgers.

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

St. Louis Drive In

(Merry Christmas, everyone!)

St. Louis Drive In is located on Waialae Ave. in Honolulu, Hawaii. It's a place that's been here for many years, where many people attending nearby Saint Louis School or Sacred Hearts Academy have gone for plate lunches and bentos.

Monday, December 24, 2012

Rose's Restaurant & Bakery

Rose's Restaurant & Bakery has three locations throughout Oregon and Washington. Before heading home to Hawaii for a week, I stopped at their location inside the Portland International Airport. There's also one spot in Sherwood (OR) and another in Vancouver (WA).

Here's the one in the Portland International Airport

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Lauretta Jean's

(Also check out my Serious Eats article on Lauretta Jean's!)

Lauretta Jean's has two storefronts in Portland, Oregon. One is in downtown Portland, near SW 6th and Pine (former home of Cafe Velo), and the newest spot is near SE 34th and Division (the former Pix Patisserie location).

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Ozzie's Deli & Gyros

Ozzie's Deli & Gyros is located on SE Washington in Portland, Oregon. Ozzie's is actually inside Mall 205, not far from 24 Hour Fitness. This family establishment started in 1979 and has been in Mall 205 since 1996.

Monday, December 17, 2012

Red Skinz

(UPDATE 1/6/13: Red Skinz is no longer in downtown Portland, but they are still doing events)

Red Skinz is an Indian fry bread cart located near SW 3rd and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. Considering it's the only fry bread cart in Portland that I've found -- and one of only two in the Pacific Northwest (the other being in Seattle) -- I had to check this one out.

Saturday, December 15, 2012

YouTube: Spicy Gingerbread Oreos

I look forward to the holiday season because we get reunited with seasonal versions of popular foods. As for the dishes we can find all the time, the time of year doesn't stop me from devouring those items as well.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Killer Burger (Part 3)

(Original Review -- May 2011 Marine Burger)
(Second Review -- May 2011 PBPB Burger)

Since my last review, Killer Burger has opened up three more locations: one in the Sellwood district of Portland, one in Bingen (Washington), and the latest one in Vancouver (Washington). I had a burger craving last month and randomly stopped in for a bite to eat at the Vancouver spot.

Monday, December 10, 2012

Fatty Patty's

Fatty Patty's is located in the Holly Park Center on NE Highway 99 in Vancouver, Washington. Owner Patty Kasper has served up gigantic portions of food for several years. Jamie Lemons is the manager here. One day last month, I just had to stop in and satisfy my huge breakfast craving.

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

A Taste of Greek

A Taste of Greek is located on SW 2nd Ave., between Stark and Oak, in downtown Portland, Oregon.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Egyptian Food Cart

(UPDATE 2/5/13: Food Carts Portland reports that this cart has closed.)

Egyptian Food Cart is located at the corner of SW 9th and Alder in downtown Portland, Oregon. Sure, it's a very generic name, but that's what the name of the cart is.

Mohammed hard at work in the cart!

Monday, December 3, 2012

Big-Ass Sandwiches (Part 3)

(Second Review -- March 2012)
(Original Review -- August 2011)

In October 2012, Big-Ass Sandwiches moved out of the Old Town area and set up shop in a new "superpod" near SE 2nd and Oak. The menu, complete with weekly specials, remains the same. I visited on a couple of occasions in the last few weeks.

A few weeks after moving into the new pod near SE 2nd and Oak

Saturday, December 1, 2012

YouTube: Spicy Twinkies and Ice Cream

Over the past few weeks, foodies have had a bunch to celebrate or mourn. On the one hand, Thanksgiving brought families and friends together for ginormous feasts. On the other hand, word spread that Hostess would cease operations, sending people into frenzies and into buy-all-Hostess-products-in-store-for-long-term-storage mode.