Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Allan's Authentic Mexican Restaurant

Allan's Authentic Mexican Restaurant is located in Portland, Oregon. This family business is also home to a spicy burrito challenge that I attempted in December 2012.


Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Blue Star Donuts

(Please also read my Serious Eats article on Blue Star Donuts!)

Blue Star Donuts is located near SW 13th and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. Micah and Katie Camden opened this spot in December 2012.


Monday, January 28, 2013

Capriotti's Sandwich Shop

Capriotti's Sandwich Shop has five locations throughout Nevada, mostly in Las Vegas. I stopped by the one on Paradise Road, just a couple minutes from the Vegas strip.

Paradise Road location

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Hash House a Go Go

Hash House a Go Go has locations in San Diego, California, and Las Vegas, Nevada. The West Sahara spot was on Man v. Food. For convenience, I went to the one on the Las Vegas strip, inside Imperial Palace.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Pink's Hot Dogs

Pink's Hot Dogs is a famous hot dog stand located in Los Angeles, California. But they also have a location on the Las Vegas strip, attached to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino. This blog post is strictly for the Vegas spot.


Monday, January 21, 2013

Bouchon Bakery

Bouchon Bakery is a bake shop kiosk located inside The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nevada. Specifically, it's next to the Venetian Theater entrance. This isn't to be confused with the Bouchon sit-down bistro in the same hotel. After reading many favorable reviews, I decided to check this place out while visiting friends in the area last month.


Saturday, January 19, 2013

YouTube: Spice Wars; New Projects

It might still be January, but I've already got some more ideas in mind for videos. Naader Reda and I also continued our Spice War in a special fat-free episode. And I'll be releasing my Diablo Burrito video tomorrow morning, so you'll want to check my YouTube channel for that!

Mmm...40 oz. of apple pie filling

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Earl of Sandwich

Earl of Sandwich is a national chain with several spots in Las Vegas, Nevada. I went to the one located within Planet Hollywood hotel and casino on the Las Vegas Strip.


Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Anime Ramen

Anime Ramen is located on Spring Mountain Road in Las Vegas, Nevada. I might have only gotten dessert here this time, but one of my pro eating friends also came here to do the ramen challenge promoted here.


Monday, January 14, 2013

In-n-Out Burger

In-n-Out Burger is a regional chain located throughout California, Nevada, and a few other states. I took a short trip and met up with a few pro eaters to get my "initiation" to this famous burger spot.

Tropicana Location in Las Vegas

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Gina's Korean BBQ (Part 2)

(Original Review -- December 2011)

On my latest trip back to Hawaii, I made it a point to stop by Gina's one more time. In my opinion, you can't go wrong with this award-winning spot.


Tuesday, January 8, 2013

The Whole Ox

The Whole Ox is located on Keawe St., just off Ala Moana Blvd., in Honolulu, Hawaii. One of my friends suggested that I check this place out. Although I already had a full schedule of places lined up, I managed to squeeze this spot in at breakfast time. This place opened in late March 2012.


Monday, January 7, 2013

Let Them Eat Cupcakes

Let Them Eat Cupcakes is located on South Beretania in Honolulu, Hawaii. Co-owners Kawehi Haug and Nick Gervais opened this cupcake shop in 2011.


Saturday, January 5, 2013

YouTube: #MidnightMadness Success

2013 began with a large YouTube video collaboration, dubbed "Midnight Madness." Participants were encouraged to get creative while eating five Milky Way Midnight Dark chocolate bars. In all, over 20 people ended up submitting entertaining videos.


Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Lucky Belly

Lucky Belly is located in Chinatown at the corner of Smith and N Hotel St. in Honolulu, Hawaii. One of my friends suggested this place, and we met up on a late November day.


Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Primo Popcorn

(Happy New Year, everyone! Hope everyone has an awesome 2013!)

Primo Popcorn is located on Sand Island Access Road in Honolulu, Hawaii. It's a family business specializing in numerous flavors of popcorn. They may have over 80 varieties (including limited-edition selections), but the spicy popcorn flavors here were enough to spark my curious panda side.