Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The Red Hot

The Red Hot is a pub located on 6th Ave. in Tacoma, Washington. This place was featured on an episode of "Chefs vs. City," where both teams had to consume several hot dog creations offered here. Since I was in the area in late January, I stopped by with a friend.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Legendary Doughnuts (Tacoma)

(Original Review -- May 2012 for the Auburn location)

I returned to Legendary Doughnuts at the end of January and met up with a fellow YouTuber in the process. Since my last review of this place, Legendary Doughnuts opened up a spot in Tacoma. Even though it's the same owner, I wanted to just cover the Tacoma experience here and provide a separate rating.

6th Ave location in Tacoma

Monday, February 25, 2013

Jonathan's (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

Jonathan's was among the barrage of original reviews that I uploaded when I first started this blog. Over a year and a half ago, I went with some co-workers, but this time, I returned alone to satisfy a craving that had built up for five days.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

The Sugar Shop

The Sugar Shop is located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon. Autumn and Shannon started this cart in July 2012.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

El Guero

(Blog post updated 2/23/13 to add another menu item!)

El Guero is a Mexican food cart located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, February 18, 2013

Moberi (Part 2)

(Original Review -- November 2012)

I returned to Moberi in mid-January to pay Ryan a visit. In particular, I dropped by to try one of the protein shakes on his menu.

Saturday, February 16, 2013

YouTube: Valentine's Day; McDonald's

(NOTE: The Rake & Herald published an article about me! I'm now known as "asbestos mouth" in the UK, lol. Check it out!)

Valentine's Day has come and gone. While many people were probably out spending quality time with their loved ones, I spent it alone enjoying great food. And frankly, I'm cool with that.

Meanwhile, several of us in the YouTube world came together again for another collab on Valentine's Day, the theme being hearts. As you can see from the video below, I took things quite literally. But trust me, it was pretty damn tasty. I'd definitely do it again.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Rockin' Robyn's Sassy Burger

Rockin' Robyn's Sassy Burger is located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Taqueria El Rodeo

Taqueria El Rodeo is located near SW 10th and Alder in downtown Portland, Oregon.

Yup, the tree trunk goes through the awning...

Monday, February 11, 2013


Cacao is a chocolate shop with two locations in downtown Portland, Oregon. One storefront is on SW 13th Ave., between Burnside and Washington. I went to the other spot at the Heathman Hotel (corner of SW Broadway and Salmon).

Cacao at the Heathman Hotel

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Food Cravings: 10 Gyros I Like

Much like the Halloween Poutine Bender blog post I did late last year, I on occasion will have the occasional gyro craving. I've had the privilege of being able to try gyros at several different spots throughout the United States, mostly in the Pacific Northwest.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Roadrunner BBQ

Roadrunner BBQ is located at the Carts on Foster food pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. Texas-style BBQ here!

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Honkin' Huge Burritos

(Also check out this great article from the Oregonian, published November 2012!)

Honkin' Huge Burritos is Portland's longest-running food cart, located in Pioneer Courthouse Square in downtown Portland, Oregon. Shelly Sorenson has been making these gargantuan burritos at the cart -- which is also known as Shelly's Garden -- for over 20 years.

Monday, February 4, 2013

Getta Gyro

Getta Gyro is a drive-thru gyro stand located adjacent to the 76 gas station near the corner of SE 1st Ave and 164th St. in Vancouver, Washington. This is an expansion of owner Elayne Barlas' baklava business that she opened in 2004.

Saturday, February 2, 2013

YouTube: Diablo Burrito; McRib; more

It's been a pretty good last couple of weeks for my YouTube channel. A couple of my older videos have finally surpassed 1,000 video views (trust me, that's a nice milestone in my book) and two of my most recent uploads have significantly upped the subscriber count. Thank you to all for your continued support!

Diablo Burrito Challenge at Allan's Mexican Restaurant