Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Kogi BBQ

The Kogi BBQ food truck, which started around Thanksgiving 2008, serves Korean fusion dishes and can be found at multiple locations throughout Southern California. As of this blog post, they have up to four trucks on the streets, and recently opened their first brick-and-mortar spot (Chego). Kogi's food can also be found at the Alibi Room.


Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Petunia's Pies and Pastries

Petunia's Pies and Pastries is a gluten-free and vegan bake shop located near the corner of SW 12th and Alder in downtown Portland, Oregon.


Monday, March 25, 2013

The Angry Unicorn

The Angry Unicorn is located at the Carts on Foster pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon.


Saturday, March 23, 2013

YouTube: St. Patrick's Day; Taco Bell; Doritos

For those not in the know, it's been a crazy past three weeks for me because I've started a new full-time job. I've still managed to get some time in to film my usual spicy food stunts. However, I obviously don't have as much time on my hands to edit the video.


Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Hawaiian Style Grill

Hawaiian Style Grill has two locations: one on E Fourth Plain in Vancouver, Washington; and a newer second location on N Killingsworth in Portland, Oregon. The Portland spot opened next to Portland Community College last month (on February 13), and I stopped by the next day.

Portland location, second day of business (2/14/13)
The place was Thai Terra before HSG moved in

Monday, March 18, 2013

Mac! Mac & Cheesery (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

My poutine travels took me back to Mac! on Valentine's Day 2013. After all, I've developed quite an affection for the comfort food dish. But here, I had a take on poutine I never had before.


Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Rescue Bagels

(UPDATE 10/22/13: As of October 1, Rescue Bagels had closed both downtown locations while the owner finds a new production facility.)

Rescue Bagels has two locations in downtown Portland, Oregon. The original bagel cart is located near SW 6th and Columbia, while the second cart opened on March 4 at the Cool Harry's Frozen Yogurt cart at the corner of SW 10th and Alder. Owner Kevin Lawler makes boiled bagels like the ones he ate when living in New York City.

SW 6th and Columbia cart

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Good Eats by JC

Good Eats by JC is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. The people running this cart mainly specialize in slow-cooked meat sandwiches.


Monday, March 11, 2013

St. Jack

(Also check out my Serious Eats article on St. Jack!)

St. Jack is a French patisserie and restaurant located on SE Clinton St. in Portland, Oregon. This blog post is strictly for the patisserie section, which opens for breakfast and lunch.

Door to the patisserie

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Timber's Doghouse PDX

(NOTE: As of August 2014, Timber's can be found at the Tidbit food pod at SE 28th Place and Division)

Timber's Doghouse PDX is located at the Good Food Here pod in Portland, Oregon. This food cart serves up burgers, tater tots, and large breakfast burritos.


Tuesday, March 5, 2013

The Honey Pot (Part 2)

(Original Review -- March 2012)

I returned to The Honey Pot at the end of January. I enjoyed the savory pie on my previous visit, and I wanted to finally sample one of Mary's sweet creations.

In the back of the Good Food Here pod
(photo taken January 2013)

Monday, March 4, 2013

Viking Soul Food (Part 2)

(UPDATE: Viking Soul Food closed their cart at the end of April 2014. They plan to reopen as a catering-only business in the future.)

(Original Review -- August 2011)

I find it remarkable that it had been so long since I've visited Viking Soul Food. I finally got some food here back in late January. In particular, some lefse specials had caught my eye. This food cart moved to the Good Food Here pod in 2012.

At the Good Food Here pod
(photo taken January 2013)

Saturday, March 2, 2013

YouTube: Lay's Chips; Jack in the Box

A lot has gone on in my world over the last two weeks. I've gained a bunch of subscribers, and I again thank everyone for watching my videos! One video in particular became a giant hit on my channel, thanks to some great timing and shameless promoting.