Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Clay's Southwest Flavors

Clay's Southwest Flavors is located at the A la Carts Food Pavilion (SE 50th and Division) in Portland, Oregon. Clay and Cherise run this food cart.


Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Beth's Cafe (Part 2)

(Original Review -- November 2011)

About a month ago, I returned to Beth's Cafe with some YouTube friends to take on the (unofficial) 12-egg omelet challenge made famous by the TV series "Man v. Food."

Monday, May 27, 2013

Salvador Molly's (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

A long-overdue trip to Salvador Molly's was in order. Nothing to sear my taste buds today. Just a good ol' game of "let's dine in, look at the menu, and pick something that really sounds awesome."


Saturday, May 25, 2013

YouTube: 1K subs; 12 Egg Omelets; Spicy Burritos

I've already addressed it on Facebook and Twitter, but earlier this month, I surpassed 1,000 YouTube subscribers. A final push from three larger channels got me past a mark I had set as a stretch goal to hit by the end of the year. I can't thank people enough for all their support.


Wednesday, May 22, 2013

The Great Food Truck Race 2013 (Portland, OR)

(NOTE: This blog post goes into some detail about what the general public saw during the Portland filming of The Great Food Truck Race. Any opinions about the food and the overall experience are strictly my own. I include some theories to explain what may have gone down on the episode, but it's only speculation and not intended to be fact. There are no spoilers on who advanced and who was eliminated on this episode.)

Yup, it's finally happened.

It took four seasons, but The Great Food Truck Race finally filmed an episode in Portland, Oregon, for the upcoming season. The season should start in late August 2013. Seven teams of food truck owners made their way from San Francisco to PDX and sold their food on Saturday (May 18) and Sunday (May 19).

(Image Credit: Food Network)

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Paseo

Paseo Caribbean Restaurant has two locations in Seattle: one in the Ballard neighborhood and another in the Fremont district. This trip covers my Ballard experience on Seaview Avenue NW.

Just a few minutes after opening at the Ballard location!

Monday, May 20, 2013

Fiji Indian Curry

Fiji Indian Curry is located near the corner of NE Alberta and 23rd Ave. in Portland, Oregon. I stopped by on a gorgeous Monday evening in late April. Not a cloud in the sky...


Saturday, May 18, 2013

Meeting Cult Moo

I've met a bunch of cool people in 2013, and Cinco de Mayo weekend was my chance to meet the guys from the YouTube channel Cult Moo. If you haven't seen their channel, check it out. Senor Guerro and Herr Pink have a lot of great shows that should keep you entertained for hours.


Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Potter's Kolaches and Coffee

Potter's Kolaches and Coffee is located near SW 3rd and Burnside in downtown Portland, Oregon. The cart is across the street from Voodoo Doughnut.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Mother Goose Bakery

Mother Goose Bakery is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Owners Doris and Greg opened this cart in early April 2013.

NOTE: This cart also doubles as Pi Woodfired Pizza in the afternoons and evenings, run by nephews Dallas and Aubrey. I'm planning a separate review on their pizza in a few weeks.


Monday, May 13, 2013

The Dancing Bear Coffee Company

(NOTE: Dancing Bear Coffee Company has closed as of 3/31/14)

The Dancing Bear Coffee Company is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Owners Sue and Larry opened this cart in March 2013.


Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Orochon Ramen

Orochon Ramen is located on Astronaut E S Onizuka St. in Little Tokyo. You may have seen this place on the Los Angeles episode of Man v. Food. Gee, I wonder what I got here....

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Traditional Russian Cuisine

Traditional Russian Cuisine is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Food Carts Portland posted a profile on them almost three months ago.

Monday, May 6, 2013

The Good and Evil Wrap Co.

The Good and Evil Wrap Company is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. It's still a fairly new cart; owner Tim opened this cart in March 2013.



Wednesday, May 1, 2013

2nd Annual Kelly's Jelly Challenge

The 2nd Annual Kelly's Jelly Challenge took place from April 17 to April 23, 2013, in Portland, Oregon. Owners of six great Portland food carts participated to see who would create the best dish using Kelly Calabria's habanero jelly.