Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Hapa PDX

UPDATE 9/4/14: The cart is now known as Hapa PDX and is located at the Tidbit pod (SE 28th Place and Division).

Hapa PDX is located at the A la Carts Food Pavilion (SE 50th and Ivon) in Portland, Oregon. Michael and Sarah opened this food cart on October 17, 2013.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

House of Bread

House of Bread has several franchises throughout the United States. The original spot is in San Luis Obispo, California, but each bakery owner is given the freedom to sell dishes and baked goods to cater to respective clientele. The spot in Tigard, Oregon, just celebrated its one-year anniversary in October 2013.

Monday, October 28, 2013

Mucho Burrito

(NOTE: I've been told that the Ghost Pepper Burrito will be available until November 29! Yay!)

Mucho Burrito has a few locations in Washington, plus several locations in Canada. I drove to the spot in Renton, Washington, to try their limited-time ghost pepper burrito.

Saturday, October 26, 2013

YouTube: World's Hottest Candy; Trinidad Scorpion Vodka

In case you've missed the YouTube glory the past couple of weeks, I've had a glorious time chugging fall beverages, creating spicy drinks, and spending time with awesome friends.


Picture taken right after I put Trinidad Scorpion Peppers inside
What will it look like in a few months?!

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Newport Cafe

The Newport Cafe is a 24-hour eatery located in Newport, Oregon. It's the perfect spot to get your seafood, and it is also home to a 7-pound burger challenge.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Pho Tango

Pho Tango is a Vietnamese restaurant located in Hillsboro, Oregon. This place is also home to a large pho challenge. With my competitive-eating buddies hungry for more good eats, we stopped by for dinner on a Sunday night.

Monday, October 21, 2013

Tommy's 4th Street Bar & Grill

Tommy's 4th Street Bar & Grill is located in Corvallis, Oregon. While I enjoyed a normal meal, one of my competitive eating buddies wanted to stop by to take on their 7-pound breakfast challenge.

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Bubba Bernie's

Bubba Bernie's is a cajun food cart located at the Cartopia food pod in Portland, Oregon.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Potato Champion (Part 3)

(Original Review -- September 2011)
(Second Review -- March 2012)

While hanging out with a good friend late on Saturday night, we decided to hit up the Potato Champion cart at the Cartopia food pod. The cluster of carts on SE 12th and Hawthorne provide the perfect mix of late-night grub.

Monday, October 14, 2013

Ichi 16 Teriyaki

Ichi 16 Teriyaki is located on NE 5th Avenue, near NE Hazel Dell Avenue, in Vancouver, Washington.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Sandwich Depot Deli

Sandwich Depot Deli is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Brett is the owner of this cart, which opened about two months ago.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Burgerville

Burgerville is a regional fast food chain, found in Oregon and Washington,with the vast majority of locations around the Portland area. I may have lived in the Pacific Northwest for over six years, but I only made my first visit to Burgerville a few weeks ago.

Monday, October 7, 2013

The Honey Pot (Part 3)

(UPDATE 10/17/13: Shocked me to see that The Honey Pot has decided to close for business at all locations. They will be missed.)

(Original Review -- March 2012)
(Second Review -- March 2013)

The Honey Pot Bakery opened a brick-and-mortar spot on N Mississippi a few months back, across from the Mississippi Marketplace food pod. On a whim, I stopped by for a small treat. As a note, you can still find Mary's food cart at the Good Food Here pod on SE Belmont.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Apizza Scholls

Apizza Scholls is located near SE 48th and Hawthorne in Portland, Oregon. This place has basically been on my bucket list of places to eat at for the past two years, and I finally stopped by for dinner late last month.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Certo

(UPDATE 11/10/13: November 10 marked Lucy's last day. Certo will continue under a new name and a new chef, Paul.)

(UPDATE 10/20/13: Certo is now at the 23rd and Alberta food cart pod!)

(UPDATE 10/1/13: Corrected my blog post to note that Enzo Lanzadoro, owner of Enzo's on NE Alberta, is the actual owner of Certo. Lucy handles the food side of this business, including catering.)

Certo is located near the corner of NE 23rd and Alberta St. NE 15th and Alberta St. in Portland, Oregon. The cart, which opened about five weeks ago, is in a fairly new parking lot containing four food carts. Lucy Phillips is the chef and owner of Certo.