Monday, December 26, 2016

Poke Mon

(This will be my final blog post of 2016! Happy New Year to all!)

Poke Mon is a poke bowl restaurant located on SE Hawthorne in Portland, Oregon.

Thursday, December 22, 2016

PDX Sliders

(Happy Holidays to all!)

PDX Sliders is located at Cartlab PDX (SW River Road) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, December 19, 2016

FOMO Chicken

FOMO Chicken is located at Cartlab PDX (SW River Road) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, December 12, 2016

Wasabi Sushi (Cartlab Location)

(Original Food Cart Review -- December 2015)
(Second Review -- October 2016)

After enjoying Wasabi Sushi at its Happy Valley Station food cart location, I headed to Cartlab, an indoor food court and bar near Portland's South Waterfront, to check out Alex's next location.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Spella Caffe

Spella Caffe is located near SW 5th and Alder in downtown Portland, Oregon.

Monday, December 5, 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Smokehouse Provisions

Smokehouse Provisions is located on E Mill Plain Blvd in Vancouver, Washington.

Monday, November 28, 2016

Stella Taco (SE Division)

Stella Taco has two locations in Portland, Oregon. This blog post covers the spot at SE 30th and Division. The other location is on NE 30th and Alberta.

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Gumba

Gumba is an Italian food cart located at the A-15 food pod (NE 15th and Alberta) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, November 21, 2016

Musubi

Musubi is located near the corner of SE 22nd and Division in Portland, Oregon.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Lula's

Lula's is a breakfast food cart located at the A-15 food pod (near NE 15th and Alberta) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, November 14, 2016

Sandino Coffee Roasters

Sandino Coffee Roasters is located inside Portland Mercado (SE 72nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Que Bola Cuban Kitchen

Que Bola Cuban Kitchen is located at Portland Mercado (SE 72nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, November 7, 2016

Culmination Brewing Dinner Recap! (11/3/2016)

Last Thursday, on November 3, 2016, I joined other food/beer enthusiasts for a special dinner at Culmination Brewing to formally introduce the new executive chef, C.J. Mueller.

Elation Double IPA

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Monday, October 31, 2016

Wasabi Sushi (Part 2)

(Original Review -- December 2015)

Last month, I returned to Wasabi Sushi for a new menu item, one that is not normally found at many sushi spots.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Lafayette Coney Island vs. American Coney Island (Detroit, MI)

American Coney Island and Lafayette Coney Island are located side by side on W Lafayette Blvd in Detroit, Michigan. I contemplated doing separate blog posts for these two places, but opted to do a comparison/contrast piece instead.

Monday, October 24, 2016

Dearborn Brewing

Dearborn Brewing is located on Michigan Avenue in downtown Dearborn, Michigan.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Monday, October 17, 2016

Guy Hollerin's Sports Restaurant & Bar

Guy Hollerin's Sports Restaurant & Bar is located at the Holiday Inn on Plymouth Road in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Monday, October 10, 2016

Zingerman's Roadhouse

Zingerman's Roadhouse is located on Jackson Avenue in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Maize and Blue Deli

Maize and Blue Deli has two locations in Ann Arbor, Michigan. For purposes of this blog post, I went to the spot on S University Avenue.

Location on S University Avenue

Monday, October 3, 2016

Krazy Jim's Blimpy Burger

Krazy Jim's Blimpy Burger is located on S Ashley Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Founders Brewing Company

Founders Brewing Company is located on Grandville Avenue SW in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Monday, September 26, 2016

Bell's Eccentric Cafe

Bell's Eccentric Cafe is located on E Kalamazoo Avenue in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Washtenaw Dairy

Washtenaw Dairy is located on S Ashley Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Monday, September 19, 2016

Zingerman's Delicatessen

Zingerman's Delicatessen is located on Detroit Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Heathen Brewing Feral Public House

Heathen Brewing's Feral Public House is located on Washington Street in downtown Vancouver, Washington.

Monday, September 12, 2016

Happy Sparrow Cafe (Part 2)

(Original Review -- January 2012)

After coming back from Texas in August, my kolache fix remained unsatisfied. Luckily, Happy Sparrow Cafe had what I wanted. As of this post, they remain the only spot to get kolaches (to my knowledge) in the Portland area.


Thursday, September 8, 2016

Torchy's Tacos

Torchy's Tacos has several locations in Texas and Colorado. This blog post covers the Houston Heights location on W 19th Street in Houston, Texas.

Monday, September 5, 2016

Shipley Do-Nuts

Shipley Do-Nuts has many locations in Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, Georgia, and Alabama. Their headquarters are in Houston, Texas. I went to the spot on Broadway Avenue in Galveston, Texas.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Safeco Field

Safeco Field, located on 1st Avenue South in Seattle, is the home to Major League Baseball's Seattle Mariners. For my first game here, I had to go up during the weekend that the Mariners retired the number of Ken Griffey, Jr.

Monday, August 29, 2016

Portland Hot Sauce Expo Recap!

On August 6-7, 2016, Portland hosted its First Annual Hot Sauce Expo adjacent to the OMSI parking lot. While I was only able to attend the first day, I met a lot of vendors and tried some delicious stuff!

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Monday, August 22, 2016

Guamanian Grill

Guamanian Grill is a food truck located in Salem, Oregon. I spotted this truck at the 2016 Bite and Brew event (July 21-24) at the Salem riverfront.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Monday, August 15, 2016

Reverend Nat's Night of 1000 Tepaches Event! (7/23/16)

On July 23, 2016, I attended Reverend Nat's Night of 1000 Tepaches event in Portland. While there weren't literally 1000 varieties, I sampled a bunch of tepache blends for panda science.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

DesiPDX

DesiPDX is located at the A-15 Food Pod, in the alleyway just west of NE Alberta and 15th in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, August 8, 2016

Three Mermaids Public House

Three Mermaids Public House is a gastropub located on SW Lower Boones Ferry Road in Tigard, Oregon.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

Point the Way Cafe

Point the Way Cafe is a gastropub located inside Los Angeles International Airport in California.

Monday, August 1, 2016

Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que

Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que has multiple locations in California, and a couple in Nevada and Arizona. This blog post covers the location on W Chapman Ave in Orange, California.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Kala Truck

Kala Truck is a Mexican food truck based in Irvine, California. They also do events throughout parts of Southern California. I saw them serving food at Vidcon 2016 last month. From what I remember, this is at least their second visit to Vidcon (as I reviewed a food item from them in 2015).

Monday, July 25, 2016

Noble Ale Works

Noble Ale Works is located on S Sinclair Street in Anaheim, California.


Thursday, July 21, 2016

My Delight Cupcakery

My Delight Cupcakery is located on N Mountain Avenue in Ontario, California. They also have a food truck for events. I saw their truck at Vidcon 2016 in Anaheim.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Spudrunners

Spudrunners is a food truck serving areas of Southern California. I spotted their truck at Vidcon 2016. It was at least their second year at the event.

Thursday, July 14, 2016

Burger Monster

Burger Monster is a California food truck serving the Anaheim and surrounding area. For this review, I spotted them at Vidcon 2016 in Anaheim, California.

Monday, July 11, 2016

Falasophy

Falasophy is a California food truck serving Orange County, Irvine, Costa Mesa, Newport Beach, Harbor City, and Los Angeles. For this review, I spotted them at Vidcon 2016 in late June.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

PDX Beer Week 2016: Great Notion Brewing

(The third of three PDX Beer Week 2016 posts!)

On June 11, 2016, I went to Great Notion Brewing to try two IPAs they made especially for PDX Beer Week.