Monday, December 31, 2012

Cafe Kaila

(Hey everyone, Aaron here. Just wanting to wish all of my blog readers a Happy New Year! Hoping 2013 is a great year for all!)

Cafe Kaila is located in the Market City Shopping Center in Honolulu, Hawaii.


Saturday, December 29, 2012

2012 in Review; Diablo Burrito; #MidnightMadness

Hey everyone! As 2012 comes to a close, I've decided to take a look back at what went down this year. There's a lot to cover, but I'll try and speed through everything. Plus, you'll get a bunch of videos to look at for your viewing pleasure (or to shake your head at in disgust). I figure it's also fitting that I've ended the year by taking down a previously undefeated spicy burrito.

With Leo (son of owner) after becoming the first to beat the
Diablo Burrito Challenge at Allan's Mexican Restaurant (12/22/12)

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

W & M Bar-B-Q Burger

W & M Bar-B-Q Burger is a mom-and-pop burger joint located on Waialae Ave. in Honolulu, Hawaii. It's a place that generations of people have been coming to. Here, it's all about the signature BBQ (teriyaki) burgers.


Tuesday, December 25, 2012

St. Louis Drive In

(Merry Christmas, everyone!)

St. Louis Drive In is located on Waialae Ave. in Honolulu, Hawaii. It's a place that's been here for many years, where many people attending nearby Saint Louis School or Sacred Hearts Academy have gone for plate lunches and bentos.


Monday, December 24, 2012

Rose's Restaurant & Bakery

Rose's Restaurant & Bakery has three locations throughout Oregon and Washington. Before heading home to Hawaii for a week, I stopped at their location inside the Portland International Airport. There's also one spot in Sherwood (OR) and another in Vancouver (WA).

Here's the one in the Portland International Airport

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Lauretta Jean's

(Also check out my Serious Eats article on Lauretta Jean's!)

Lauretta Jean's has two storefronts in Portland, Oregon. One is in downtown Portland, near SW 6th and Pine (former home of Cafe Velo), and the newest spot is near SE 34th and Division (the former Pix Patisserie location).


Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Ozzie's Deli & Gyros

Ozzie's Deli & Gyros is located on SE Washington in Portland, Oregon. Ozzie's is actually inside Mall 205, not far from 24 Hour Fitness. This family establishment started in 1979 and has been in Mall 205 since 1996.

Monday, December 17, 2012

Red Skinz

(UPDATE 1/6/13: Red Skinz is no longer in downtown Portland, but they are still doing events)

Red Skinz is an Indian fry bread cart located near SW 3rd and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. Considering it's the only fry bread cart in Portland that I've found -- and one of only two in the Pacific Northwest (the other being in Seattle) -- I had to check this one out.


Saturday, December 15, 2012

YouTube: Spicy Gingerbread Oreos

I look forward to the holiday season because we get reunited with seasonal versions of popular foods. As for the dishes we can find all the time, the time of year doesn't stop me from devouring those items as well.



Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Killer Burger (Part 3)

(Original Review -- May 2011 Marine Burger)
(Second Review -- May 2011 PBPB Burger)

Since my last review, Killer Burger has opened up three more locations: one in the Sellwood district of Portland, one in Bingen (Washington), and the latest one in Vancouver (Washington). I had a burger craving last month and randomly stopped in for a bite to eat at the Vancouver spot.


Monday, December 10, 2012

Fatty Patty's

Fatty Patty's is located in the Holly Park Center on NE Highway 99 in Vancouver, Washington. Owner Patty Kasper has served up gigantic portions of food for several years. Jamie Lemons is the manager here. One day last month, I just had to stop in and satisfy my huge breakfast craving.


Wednesday, December 5, 2012

A Taste of Greek

A Taste of Greek is located on SW 2nd Ave., between Stark and Oak, in downtown Portland, Oregon.


Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Egyptian Food Cart

(UPDATE 2/5/13: Food Carts Portland reports that this cart has closed.)

Egyptian Food Cart is located at the corner of SW 9th and Alder in downtown Portland, Oregon. Sure, it's a very generic name, but that's what the name of the cart is.

Mohammed hard at work in the cart!

Monday, December 3, 2012

Big-Ass Sandwiches (Part 3)

(Second Review -- March 2012)
(Original Review -- August 2011)

In October 2012, Big-Ass Sandwiches moved out of the Old Town area and set up shop in a new "superpod" near SE 2nd and Oak. The menu, complete with weekly specials, remains the same. I visited on a couple of occasions in the last few weeks.

A few weeks after moving into the new pod near SE 2nd and Oak

Saturday, December 1, 2012

YouTube: Spicy Twinkies and Ice Cream

Over the past few weeks, foodies have had a bunch to celebrate or mourn. On the one hand, Thanksgiving brought families and friends together for ginormous feasts. On the other hand, word spread that Hostess would cease operations, sending people into frenzies and into buy-all-Hostess-products-in-store-for-long-term-storage mode.


Wednesday, November 28, 2012

NYC Pizzeria

NYC Pizzeria is located on SE Chkalov Drive in Vancouver, Washington, not far off Mill Plain Blvd. The Singhs run this locally owned establishment that aims to bring New York-style stone-baked pizza to the Pacific Northwest.



Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Juliano's Pizzeria

Juliano's Pizzeria is a locally owned, independent establishment located on SE Mill Plain Blvd in Vancouver, Washington. This place has been going strong for over 25 years now, established June 14, 1987. The story goes that previous employees of Flying Pie (Portland, OR) started this location. If you've been to both spots like I have, the similarities in pizza are there -- namely lots of toppings.


Monday, November 26, 2012

Halloween Poutine Bender

If you've followed my blog from at least the summertime, you probably know that I've just a thing for poutine. Last month on Halloween, I basically did just that. No video, just me on a gluttony food adventure.

Poutine from Potato Champion

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Foster Burger

Foster Burger is located near the corner of SE 54th and Foster in Portland, Oregon. I honestly had this place on my radar for over a year, but only got around to it now. Better late than never, I guess?


Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Dagostino's Italian Food

Dagostino's is an Italian cart located at the Rose City Food Park in Portland, Oregon. They are still relatively new, having opened in mid-October 2012. I stopped by on their first week of business.


Monday, November 19, 2012

Jonte's Urban Seafood

(UPDATE: Jonte's Urban Seafood closed at the end of 2012. Facebook page mentions that the family moved to Arizona.)

Jonte's Urban Seafood is located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon. T'Lahjonte McCowan obtains fresh, local seafood to go along with her signature sauces and special batters.


Saturday, November 17, 2012

YouTube: More adventures to come!

Over the last couple of weeks, I've uploaded some spicochist reviews, but I've gotten back to taking on a few (smaller) food challenges. It may either come from others on YouTube, or just stuff I feel like videotaping.

Chocolate challenge = win

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

King Quesadilla

King Quesadilla is located at the Green Castle Food Court (NE 20th and Everett) in Portland, Oregon. Dave, the chef and owner, has been in the food business for a while, but only now decided to go with the food cart. His first day was October 19, and I stopped by the following day.


Tuesday, November 13, 2012

The Mighty Bowl

The Mighty Bowl is a roaming food truck located in Vancouver, Washington. Co-owners Sherilee, Steve, and Kevin started this business in the summer of 2012. Kate also helps with taking orders in the truck.

Next to Clark College on a Wednesday

Monday, November 12, 2012

Garcelon's


Garcelon's is a grilled cheese and soup cart located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon.


Saturday, November 10, 2012

Veggie Grill (Yelp Elite Event)

After several months away from Yelp Elite events, I attended the November 3 Yelp Elite event at Veggie Grill. Before this event, it was usually one of three situations: (1) too far of a drive (when I still lived in Salem); (2) too late for me to attend (I'm a weird guy who goes to bed early and gets up stupid early); or (3) had other plans that day.


Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Philly Bilmos

Philly Bilmos is located in the Fisher's Landing Marketplace at SE 164th and McGillivray in Vancouver, Washington. Michael Bitter opened this spot in December 2000, and this place has garnered tons of positive reviews since.


Tuesday, November 6, 2012

PDX 671 (Part 2)

(Original Review -- August 2011)

With PDX 671 recently moving to the Rose City Food Park on NE 52nd and Sandy, I figured it was time to re-visit this cart and have some tasty Guamanian food. Ed (chef and co-owner) has followed my blog for a while. Always cool to know there are loyal followers out there!

At the Rose City Food Park in 2012

Monday, November 5, 2012

Moberi

(Also click here for Part 2 -- February 2013)

Moberi is a juice and smoothie cart located at the Rose City Food Park (NE 52nd and Sandy) in Portland, Oregon.


Saturday, November 3, 2012

YouTube: 100+ subscribers, Spice Wars

All's been well on the YouTube front. Thanks mainly to some channel plugging from Naader Reda, I've eclipsed the 100-subscriber mark. I sincerely thank all of you who have watched and shared my videos! It really means a lot to me.


Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Sheridan's Frozen Custard (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

Roughly one year since my last visit, I returned to Sheridan's in late October for one of their seasonal treats. A spur-of-the-moment decision, really. Turned out to be an awesome choice.


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Sabria's Arabic Food

Sabria's Arabic Food can now be found at the Green Castle food pod (NE 20th and Everett) in Portland, Oregon. I remember seeing Said and Shelly's cart in downtown Portland several times, but this was my first actual stop for food here.


Monday, October 29, 2012

El Sultan

El Sultan is a Mexican and Mediterranean food cart located at the Carts on Foster food pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. While other carts have come and gone since the pod opened up around early 2011, Gus, the friendly owner here, has stayed put.

I'm glad I took this when we had awesome weather!

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Craft Coffee (20% off promotion; ends 11/8!)

(NOTE: I have teamed with Craft Coffee to bring you a limited-time promotion. HURRY! This promotion ends November 8, 2012!)

Hey coffee lovers! Ever want to try some of the best coffees from multiple roasters, as certified by true coffee experts? If so, read on!

Craft Coffee, a company based in Brooklyn, New York, receives over 50 coffees each month from various roasting companies across North America. From there, Craft Coffee's expert team conducts a series of tests to narrow the field down to the top 10. Finally, the founder comes in and selects the top three artisan coffees for the month. Those three coffees (each 4 oz. bags) get shipped to each subscriber.

For the next two weeks, they are giving my faithful readers a generous 20% discount (code is "aaronpromo") to subscribe to their coffees-of-the-month service. I'm sure you want to know more, so keep reading below!

(Logo courtesy of Craft Coffee)

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Shut Up and Eat (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

I honestly have no clue how my last visit to Shut Up and Eat occurred over a year ago, when it was still a food cart in the A la Carts Food Pod on SE 50th and Ivon. Since then, co-owner and chef John Fimmano opened a 30-seat brick-and-mortar spot right at the corner of SE Gladstone and Cesar E. Chavez (a.k.a. SE 39th Ave.).


Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Stuffy's II

Stuffy's II is a diner-like family business located in Longview, Washington. I joined members of the Big Eaters Club on October 13 to take on Stuffy's famous 6-pound cinnamon roll. Because obviously, we love to eat huge portions for fun.


Monday, October 22, 2012

Dovetail Bakery

(NOTE: Here's my separate Serious Eats article on Dovetail Bakery!)

Dovetail Bakery is located near NE 30th and Alberta St. in Portland, Oregon. After looking at numerous rave reviews of this all-vegan bakery, I stopped by in mid-October to meet with owner Morgan Grundsfield-Helvey and sample several of her baked goods.


Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Suzette Creperie (Part 2)

(Original Review -- May 2011)

I admittedly got real harsh on this place when I tried this place last May. At the time, they were on NE Alberta St., but since then, Jehnee has ditched the cart and opened a true brick-and-mortar spot near SE 33rd and Belmont. With some time to kill -- and a crepe craving -- I gave this place another go.


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Meianna Bakery

Meianna Bakery is a Chinese bakery located in the Fubonn Shopping Center on SE 82nd Ave. in Portland, Oregon.


Monday, October 15, 2012

Press and Grind

(UPDATE January 2013: Press & Grind has closed. Hoping they will re-launch in the future!)

Press and Grind is a coffee cart located at the Carts on Foster pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. Best friends Janelle and Abbi opened this cart at the beginning of September.


Sunday, October 14, 2012

YouTube: 16 oz. Trinidad Salsa; Spice Wars

I decided to release my 16 oz. Trinidad Moruga Scorpion salsa video on Saturday morning, and I've put it below the jump break. By far among my top three stupidest spicy stunts to date. I'm sure my stomach thanks me that I otherwise stay more reasonable on spicy portion consumption.

This was probably a bad idea...

Thursday, October 11, 2012

The Last Word

The Last Word is located at the Carts on Foster Food Pod (SE 52nd and Foster) in Portland, Oregon. Mike is the chef and owner, serving up fresh sandwiches, soups, and homemade ice cream. While I first learned about this cart after numerous rave reviews, one spicy item in particular all but sealed my visit.


Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Pink & Black Waffle Shack (Part 2)

(UPDATE: On 10/4/12, circumstances forced Sadie to close the cart for the winter. She plans to open the cart again in the spring and will still do special orders for delivery or pick-up in the meantime. Sadie's also promoting her homemade beef jerky, which she plans to sell by the pound.)

(Original Review -- May 2012)

I visited Sadie at the Pink & Black Waffle Shack a couple of times in the past few weeks. She moved to a spot near NE 13th and Alberta just in time for Last Thursday on Alberta at the end of August. While I wasn't able to get a waffle in when walking down a food glutton's dream street, I headed back in mid-September to finally satisfy my waffle fix.


Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Donutorama (Part 2)

(Original Review -- January 2012)

(NOTE: Greg closed his SW 3rd and Ash cart around the end of 2012. You can still get Greg's beignets at places like Koi Fusion, and be on the lookout for more places in the future!)

In mid-September, I went back to Donutorama to pay Greg a visit. He had spent the winter selling doughnuts in Cool Harry's Frozen Yogurt cart off SW 10th and Alder, but moved to his own cart near SW 3rd and Ash this past summer.


Monday, October 8, 2012

Stardust Diner

Stardust Diner is located on SE 164th Ave. in Vancouver, Washington. A friend suggested this place for lunch, and with me not being too far away, I figured it was worth trying.


Sunday, October 7, 2012

Green Leaf's and Bananas (promotion)

(DISCLAIMER: This sponsorship is brought to you by Green Leaf's & Bananas, who we have partnered with for this promotion.)



Green Leaf's, founded in 1976, offers healthy meals made from the freshest ingredients. Among them: fresh-tossed salads made to order, delicious wraps, amazing grilled panini sandwiches, and hearty homemade soups.

Bananas, founded in 1979 as Everything Yogurt, is comprised of great-tasting smoothies, fresh-fruit frosties, and frozen yogurt. For individuals or families that strive for clean, healthy eating, look no further than Green Leaf's & Bananas!

   

Green Leaf's "Pick & Mix" salad bar offers virtually limitless combinations to ensure customers get exactly what they want. They place high value on customer service and want people to have an awesome experience.



The fine folks at Green Leaf's are giving away a Vitamix blender that can really help with blending those smoothies and other healthy options! Just go and "like" their Facebook page to enter!

 

Get in the mix and win a Vitamix!
Just head on over to the Green Leaf's & Bananas Facebook page to enter for the Vitamix Giveaway!