Tuesday, December 31, 2013

La Belle Patate

(I'd like to wish everyone a Happy New Year! I hope 2014 is a great year for everyone!)

La Belle Patate has three locations in Canada (as of this blog post): one in Vancouver, BC; one in Victoria, BC; and a third spot in Canmore, AB. This post is for the downtown Vancouver BC spot on Davie Street.

Monday, December 30, 2013

Fritz European Fry House

Fritz European Fry House is located on Davie Street (near Granville) in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Portland Meadows (Yelp Elite Event)

I've been ridiculously busy with a new job and my endless string of YouTube videos. However, I did make it to Yelp's final Elite event of 2013 last week at Portland Meadows.

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Portland Food Carts: Holiday Adventure

Since I'll be spending Christmas and New Year's on the mainland again for the fourth consecutive year, I decided to take a nice Portland food cart adventure a few days before Christmas. I basically revisited a few of my favorites (trust me, the list would be a mile long or so).

Wednesday, December 25, 2013

Yolk's Breakfast

(Hey everyone! I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas!)

Yolk's Breakfast is located at the corner of Dunsmuir Street and Beatty Street in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Mean Poutine

Mean Poutine is located on Nelson Street (near Granville) in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Monday, December 23, 2013

Japadog

Japadog is a famous hot dog cart that started in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. It has now expanded to multiple carts and brick-and-mortars in Vancouver BC and New York City. This blog post only covers the brick-and-mortar on Robson Street in downtown Vancouver BC.

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Smoke's Poutinerie

Smoke's Poutinerie has multiple locations across Canada. This review is for their poutinerie in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Aussie Pie Guy

Aussie Pie Guy is a food truck located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Their usual downtown spot is on Hamilton Street, near W Georgia.

Monday, December 16, 2013

Kaboom Box

Kaboom Box is a food truck located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Their usual spot is near the corner of Granville and W Georgia Street.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Homegrown Smoker Vegan BBQ (Part 3)

(Original Review -- August 2011 at SW 4th and College)
(Second Review -- June 2012 at Green Castle food pod)

I returned to Homegrown Smoker in late November. For some reason, I was on a burrito bender and figured a vegan meal would logically allow me to eat more later. Healthy food means you can consume more of it, right?

Monday, December 9, 2013

Kind Coffee

Kind Coffee is located at the Good Food Here pod (near SE 43rd and Belmont) in Portland, Oregon

Saturday, December 7, 2013

YouTube: 75 Reese's PB Cups; 4 lb Cupcake

The past few weeks have been fairly normal -- for people who like to hurt themselves with sugar and spice. Nothing like 4-pound cupcakes and a Reese's video response to a huge YouTube star.


Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Brazilian House

Brazilian House is located at the Good Food Here pod (near SE 43rd and Belmont) in Portland, Oregon. The cart operates out of the old Rockabillies food cart.

Monday, December 2, 2013

El Brasero

El Brasero is located at the Cartopia food pod (SE 12th and Hawthorne) in Portland, Oregon.

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Da Fat Boyz BBQ

Da Fat Boyz BBQ is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Pix Patisserie

Pix Patisserie is located on E Burnside in Portland, Oregon. This is a place known for their desserts, namely the macarons, a sweet French meringue-based confection.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Maine Street Lobster

Maine Street Lobster is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. David and Cathy have been doing soft openings for the past couple of weeks. I stopped by recently after seeing a Facebook post about this cart.

Monday, November 18, 2013

Bridgeport Brewing Pub

Bridgeport Brewing Pub is located on NW Marshall, near NW 13th Avenue, in Portland, Oregon.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

YouTube: Chubby Bunny Duel; 1 lb Snickers

Over the past few weeks, I feel like I've gotten a bit more popular in the YouTube world. A few people from some great companies sent me some of their hot sauces to review. I might not be as big a name as Ted Barrus (for this particular spicy food genre), but I'm humbled and honored that others have watched my videos.

1 lb Snickers satisfying my hunger!

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Rolling Gourmet Fusion

Rolling Gourmet Fusion is located near the corner of SW 9th and Washington in Portland, Oregon. This food cart sells sushi and sandwiches, mostly fusing Japanese and Korean dishes.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Stickers Asian Cafe

Stickers Asian Cafe is located on SE Milwaukie Avenue in the Sellwood neighborhood of Portland, Oregon.

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Sugar Mamas' Cafe

Sugar Mamas' Cafe is on SW Alder St., near SW 3rd Avenue, in downtown Portland, Oregon.

Monday, November 4, 2013

Carol's Corner Cafe

Carol's Corner Cafe is located at the corner of NE 78th St. and St. Johns Road in Vancouver, Washington. This is an award-winning breakfast place, having won "Best Breakfast in Clark County" multiple times.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Hapa PDX

UPDATE 9/4/14: The cart is now known as Hapa PDX and is located at the Tidbit pod (SE 28th Place and Division).

Hapa PDX is located at the A la Carts Food Pavilion (SE 50th and Ivon) in Portland, Oregon. Michael and Sarah opened this food cart on October 17, 2013.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

House of Bread

House of Bread has several franchises throughout the United States. The original spot is in San Luis Obispo, California, but each bakery owner is given the freedom to sell dishes and baked goods to cater to respective clientele. The spot in Tigard, Oregon, just celebrated its one-year anniversary in October 2013.

Monday, October 28, 2013

Mucho Burrito

(NOTE: I've been told that the Ghost Pepper Burrito will be available until November 29! Yay!)

Mucho Burrito has a few locations in Washington, plus several locations in Canada. I drove to the spot in Renton, Washington, to try their limited-time ghost pepper burrito.

Saturday, October 26, 2013

YouTube: World's Hottest Candy; Trinidad Scorpion Vodka

In case you've missed the YouTube glory the past couple of weeks, I've had a glorious time chugging fall beverages, creating spicy drinks, and spending time with awesome friends.


Picture taken right after I put Trinidad Scorpion Peppers inside
What will it look like in a few months?!

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Newport Cafe

The Newport Cafe is a 24-hour eatery located in Newport, Oregon. It's the perfect spot to get your seafood, and it is also home to a 7-pound burger challenge.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Pho Tango

Pho Tango is a Vietnamese restaurant located in Hillsboro, Oregon. This place is also home to a large pho challenge. With my competitive-eating buddies hungry for more good eats, we stopped by for dinner on a Sunday night.

Monday, October 21, 2013

Tommy's 4th Street Bar & Grill

Tommy's 4th Street Bar & Grill is located in Corvallis, Oregon. While I enjoyed a normal meal, one of my competitive eating buddies wanted to stop by to take on their 7-pound breakfast challenge.

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Bubba Bernie's

Bubba Bernie's is a cajun food cart located at the Cartopia food pod in Portland, Oregon.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Potato Champion (Part 3)

(Original Review -- September 2011)
(Second Review -- March 2012)

While hanging out with a good friend late on Saturday night, we decided to hit up the Potato Champion cart at the Cartopia food pod. The cluster of carts on SE 12th and Hawthorne provide the perfect mix of late-night grub.

Monday, October 14, 2013

Ichi 16 Teriyaki

Ichi 16 Teriyaki is located on NE 5th Avenue, near NE Hazel Dell Avenue, in Vancouver, Washington.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Sandwich Depot Deli

Sandwich Depot Deli is located at the Cartlandia food pod in Portland, Oregon. Brett is the owner of this cart, which opened about two months ago.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Burgerville

Burgerville is a regional fast food chain, found in Oregon and Washington,with the vast majority of locations around the Portland area. I may have lived in the Pacific Northwest for over six years, but I only made my first visit to Burgerville a few weeks ago.

Monday, October 7, 2013

The Honey Pot (Part 3)

(UPDATE 10/17/13: Shocked me to see that The Honey Pot has decided to close for business at all locations. They will be missed.)

(Original Review -- March 2012)
(Second Review -- March 2013)

The Honey Pot Bakery opened a brick-and-mortar spot on N Mississippi a few months back, across from the Mississippi Marketplace food pod. On a whim, I stopped by for a small treat. As a note, you can still find Mary's food cart at the Good Food Here pod on SE Belmont.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Apizza Scholls

Apizza Scholls is located near SE 48th and Hawthorne in Portland, Oregon. This place has basically been on my bucket list of places to eat at for the past two years, and I finally stopped by for dinner late last month.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Certo

(UPDATE 11/10/13: November 10 marked Lucy's last day. Certo will continue under a new name and a new chef, Paul.)

(UPDATE 10/20/13: Certo is now at the 23rd and Alberta food cart pod!)

(UPDATE 10/1/13: Corrected my blog post to note that Enzo Lanzadoro, owner of Enzo's on NE Alberta, is the actual owner of Certo. Lucy handles the food side of this business, including catering.)

Certo is located near the corner of NE 23rd and Alberta St. NE 15th and Alberta St. in Portland, Oregon. The cart, which opened about five weeks ago, is in a fairly new parking lot containing four food carts. Lucy Phillips is the chef and owner of Certo.

Monday, September 30, 2013

Yummy Mongolian BBQ

Yummy Mongolian BBQ has three locations around Vancouver, Washington, and Portland, Oregon.

Saturday, September 28, 2013

YouTube: 7 Pot Brown Pain and Wasabi Snickers

Over the past couple of weeks, I've been sidetracked with some personal matters (nothing bad), so I've largely kept the YouTube stuff relegated to simple reviews or short challenges. Probably the one exception was the Afterburn 7 Pot Brown pepper, which gave me a quick reminder on why I don't always stuff superhots down my throat.

Evil pod. Just evil.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Breakfast at Valerie's (Part 2)

(Original Review -- October 2011)

I returned to Breakfast at Valerie's in mid-September for a hearty breakfast. This time, I brought my mother, who visited from Hawaii.

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Margot's Cafe

Margot's Cafe is located on Lancaster Drive NE, just off Center Street, in Salem, Oregon. Doug and Margot (husband and wife) opened this place at the beginning of January. It is a 100% gluten-free establishment.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Iggy's Cafe

Iggy's Cafe is located near the corner of 17th St. SE and Center Street in Salem, Oregon. Owner Ian Johnson opened this place in May after previously overseeing The Sandwich Shop.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Annie's Donuts

Annie's Donuts is located at the corner of NE 72nd and Sandy Blvd in Portland, Oregon. This has long been one of the top doughnut spots to hit up in Portland, and I finally made my way here in late August.


Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Thrive Pacific NW

Thrive Pacific NW is located at the corner of SE 32nd and Hawthorne in Portland, Oregon. There is also a mobile truck that does events throughout the year.


Monday, September 16, 2013

Tony's Cucina

Tony's Cucina is located on SW 9th Avenue, next to Gaufre Gourmet, in downtown Portland, Oregon. Tony opened his food cart in April 2013.


Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Beez Neez

Beez Neez is located near SW 3rd and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. Bryan is the owner of this cart, which has been going strong for over three years.


Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Saaj Baghdad

Saaj Baghdad is located near SW 10th and Washington in downtown Portland, Oregon. Layth is the owner of this food cart.